Europe Haul 2014-15 – CityPharma, The Body Shop, Cath Kidston et al.

It’s been just under a month since I returned from my Europe trip. I didn’t end up spending the required €176 at CityPharma. However, if I stayed in the shop longer and had been more willing to part with basically AUD250, honestly, it would have not been hard. Like all other bloggers recommend, please go to CityPharma when it first opens. I had this advice in mind, but I did not heed it. Although my visit was not packed at around 4pm on a weekday, even just one other person in the the narrow aisles makes the experience excruciatingly stressful. Bloggers have advertised this place as a cheap mecca of French skincare, with some amazing sounding bargains. Ok, the prices were cheaper than most street pharmacies in Paris, but I was a bit miffed that many prices were (a little) higher than what some blogs had advertised. That said, prices are still definitely cheaper than Australia, even with 40% off sales at Priceline. Maybe it’s because those blogs are a bit old, or maybe CityPharma only recently applied economics and raised their prices as per demand. If you’re going to Paris, I would recommend that you use the prices on my blog as an updated guide.

Haul details IMG_2933

CityPharma, Paris (Total €74.62 / ~AUD112)

  1. Embryolisse Lait-Creme Concentre Special Duo Offer 75ml x 2 €21.50 total
  2. Nuxe Reve de Miel Stick Lip Balm 4g x 2 €5.95
  3. Nuxe Reve de Miel Ultra-Nourishing Lip Balm (jar) 15g €6.90
  4. Biafine Emulsion 186ml €3.99
  5. Bioderma Hydrabio Soothing Refreshing Water 50ml €1.90
  6. La Roche Posay Coffret including LRP Anthelios 50+ Anti-Brilliance Gel-Creme 50ml, LRP Hydreane Moisturizing Cream for Sensitive Skin 15ml and LRP Physiological Micellar Solution 50ml €9.99
  7. La Roche Posay Anthelios 50+ Ultra-Light Fluid 50ml €10.90
  8. Bioderma Crealine H2O Micellar Water 100ml €2.49
  9. Fletagex Pommade 30g x 2 €5.50 ea.

One blogger had found Embryolisse for €10 for a two pack! I did not find such bargains. Although my pack had been labelled “Offre Speciale Duo”, the pricing was pretty much equivalent to buying two single boxes. Another blogger had been able to get two LRP sunscreens for around €8 total for two! So many bloggers said that the 100ml Bioderma Micellar Water was €1.99. I found it for 50 Euro cents more! Finally, apparently 50ml thermal water sprays are supposed to be abundant for €1.99. Initially, all I could find was bins of 50ml Avene Thermal Spray for €2.49. My limit for such a thing was €1.99 and it wasn’t only until I reached the end of the checkout line I found a bin of the 50ml Bioderma Hydrabio sprays for €1.90! Actually, I had my heart set on a 50ml Uriage, but only the huge sizes could be found. Also, I was willing to spend a bit on the much hyped LRP Serozinc spray, but that was no where to be found. Besides the pricing shock in CityPharma, the other disappointment was that there were certain items I could not actually find. There were actually whole sections of the skincare shelves that were just empty! Another last minute find was the LRP coffret. I only found it whilst I was standing in line! Amusing how the coffret costs less than the single Anthelios! I bought the huge Biafine because everyone raves about it. For a few Euro, I thought, eh, why not. Fletagex is the replacement for the much loved Avibon. I haven’t used it yet, but I gave away one tube to mum.

The Body Shop, London (Total £9.5 / ~AUD18)

  1. Vanilla Brulee Lip Balm 20ml £2
  2. Glazed Apple Eau de Toilette 30ml £4.5
  3. Gingerbread Sparkle Body Butter 200ml £3

I’m not actually a big fan of The Body Shop, but with all these items on post-Christmas sale and scents I didn’t mind, I thought I might as well buy them as a somewhat London souvenir. I haven’t opened the lip balm yet, but the tester version smelled creamy sweet. Given my stockpile of lip balms, it might be 2020 before I use this one! The Glazed Apple spray is like a really cheapo version of DKNY Be Delicious, haha! I don’t have a DKNY Be Delicious on hand to compare, but obviously DKNY’s has more sophistication, not just one note of sugared apples! The Gingerbread Sparkle body butter has such a warming scent from the tub, mmm. I’m not sure how it will apply though, since the smell could just end up being cloying.

Cath Kidston, London (Heathrow Airport ~£36.67 / ~AUD63)

  1. Autumn Bloom Small Cross Body Canvas & Leather Bag £27.50
  2. Little Spot Zipped Travel Purse with Key Chain £9.17

These were both very impulse buys, whilst waiting for our delayed plane in Heathrow. I’m glad that I did end up buying something from Cath Kidston, since I do love the kitsch of her prints. It makes for a very London souvenir and not one of those plastic Harrod’s bags that everyone seems to get. All of these items were on sale and since it was in the airport, the pricing was duty free! Bonus! However, I do now sort of go a bit ouch at the pricing of the pink zipped travel purse, since converted that’s like nearly AUD$20 for such a small thing! Other products pictured are just small finds in London. So those were my hauls! Also pictured are a few other random goodies that I bought in London, but I won’t mention unless requested.

One thought on “Europe Haul 2014-15 – CityPharma, The Body Shop, Cath Kidston et al.

Leave a Reply

