Melano CC Intensive Anti-Spot Essence Review

I am now on my second tube of Melano CC Intensive Anti-Spot Essence, so I think it’s time for a review.

Good

  • It works (to an extent…). It works best on blemishes which leave brown marks rather than red marks for me.
  • Cheap. Available from 854 yen (AUD10) tax-free.
  • Sleek opaque packaging which prevents oxidisation
  • Very tiny opening so you won’t waste excess product – lasted about 3 months used twice daily with about 4 drops
  • Doesn’t leave a sticky residue

In the “Asian Beauty” world, the popular comparison is the OST/Wishtrend C20 Serum. The C20 Serum is available for USD14.99 (AUD21) for 30ml . The Melano CC averages around 1200 yen (AUD15) for 20ml. I haven’t tried the C20, but reviews indicate  that it’s sticky on application and oxidises quickly. I’m not closing myself to ever trying C20, but Melano seems better…

Not so good

  • Although it does make a change in your skin, the effect is so minimal or slow. It hardly did anything for my sunspots/freckles, which is what I really want to erase. Maybe I just have high expectations. For what I’m trying to get rid of, maybe I need to go the way of a laser. It also didn’t seem to be effective for red marks at all.
  • Not easily available online. Rakuten is probably the most accessible way, but it can be difficult to figure out the Rakuten postage process. You might find a few ebay listings too.
  • The texture of the product is like a dry-silicone oil. This is not ideal for my dehydrated-oily skin type. Vitamin C is supposed to be applied to a clean face, but I found if I do this before any moisturising toners, my face feels parched. Oils generally do not help restore moisture to my face.
  • Unknown Vitamin C percentage in this product, as Japanese products do not disclose percentages. However, it must be in an effective carrier, since it works.
  • Strange dry down smell which I only stopped noticing about after two months. The website advertises the range is yuzu fragranced. Yuzu is a Japanese citrus fruit and citrus is a fairly common smell for Vitamin C products. However, once this product dried down, I detected a powdery vanilla/sunscreen smell. It wasn’t great, but not terrible either.

Re-purchase? Probably not. I did buy 4 of them in a craze. However, the product has not wowed or amazed in me and I will keep one eye open for more superior vitamin C/skin lightening products.

Recommend? Yes, it’s cheap and I have read some great reviews online. Maybe my expectations are too high and it’ll work better for you.

One thought on “Melano CC Intensive Anti-Spot Essence Review

Leave a Reply

