Parched! A tale of dehydrated skin

 

My trip to Japan caused my already dehydrated skin to be even further dehydrated. I would put this down to a combination of cold wintery air due to the season and extremely drying hotel rooms. I’m not sure why, but there’s someone about Japan’s hotel which seem to suck the moisture out of your body. I don’t believe I experience this in other countries’ hotels. Thankfully, in the majority of the hotels we stayed had in-room all-in-one humidifier and air purifier machines.

Except, our final one.

This post is not supposed to be a review about the final hotel we stayed during our most recent Japan trip, but I have to make mention of it. The Centurion Hotel Ikebukuro was an odd one. It had some great amenities (mostly typical of Japanese hotels), but it also lacked some quite vital Japanese amenities. And the main item it lacked was the humidifier. Most Japanese hotels provide in-room humidifiers or they can be borrowed from the front desk for free during your stay. The Centurion had none. Sure, there was free skin lotion and moisturiser in the bathroom, but they were watery as and did pretty much nothing. I continued using my own body and face moisturiser samples I brought from Australia. However, my skin just couldn’t hack it. Even my heels started cracking and that has never happened to me before!

It’s now been almost a fortnight since returning back to Australia and I’m still in repair mode. I would say about 90% of the dry patches of my body have been fixed, but a few stubborn areas still remain. With both my face and my body, I am layering so many moisture products and I can’t tell which ones are actually helping. Even some of my “power tools” like the Uriage Aquaprecis Express Mask aren’t even up to the task. I’m yet to sheet mask though… I’m really keen to restore my moisture barrier, so I can resume using actives again. If I achieve success soon, I will list out the products I have used, but I suspect that most of the repair will be due to being in a less drying environment and access to more products than I would usually have while travelling.

One thought on “Parched! A tale of dehydrated skin

Leave a Reply

