Review: Garnier Hydra Bomb Ultra Hydrating Rejuvenating Tissue Mask

I am doing this review as I received one free packet to trial for a beauty website.

Displaying

This is a sheet mask from Garnier. Sheet masks are extremely popular in Asia and have been huge for more than a decade now. The main benefit of sheet masks are usually their hydration and brightening properties. I’m not sure why it’s taken so long for Garnier to release one of their own, since they appear to be one of the Western brands who actually cotton [pun intended?] on to Asian beauty trends. For example, they were one of the first mass-market Western brands to release out BB creams. Even their Miracle Sleeping Cream, which is currently part of my routine, is inspired by Asian sleeping packs.

This sheet mask appears to be so new to Australia, that I can’t even find the Australian website for it! Here’s the UK site for the product, with a slightly different name. There are three variants of this sheet mask: Rejuvenating, Rebalancing and Soothing. I received Rejuvenating as I was suffering from bad dehydration at the time of answering the trial survey. My dehydration issue has improved a lot, but I always welcome a top-up. The Rejuvenating variant includes hyaluronic acid (yay!) and pomegranate extract to hydrate skin and “boost radiance”.

This works like any usual sheet mask (pretty much…). Tear the foil packet and inside you have a folded cloth mask swimming in serum. The weird thing is that this one comes with a blue “protective film”. I’m unsure of the purpose of this besides maybe ensuring you put the correct side of the mask on your facial skin. Pop the (cold!) mask on your skin and wait 15 minutes so your face can absorb all the hydration goodies. You may get weird looks when this is on your face, but it’s all for a good cause. When the protective film was still on, my initial impressions was that it didn’t fit my face. Once I removed that film, I was able to gently smooth out the material so it covered most of my face. While you wait, pour out all the serum in the packet and moisturise your body with it, so your body can get the treatment too. After 15 minutes, remove the mask, massage the remaining serum on your face into your skin and put a humectant moisturising layer on – I used the Garnier Miracle Sleeping Cream. Squeeze out all the serum left in the cloth mask and continue moisturising your body.

Immediately after the one application, my skin was hydrated and looked more brighter as my redness was reduced. These effects are temporary.

The packet states “1 Mask = 24H of Lasting Hydration”, which is a pretty weak claim. Your everyday moisturiser should be able to provide 24 hours of hydration! I noticed reading online reviews of overseas versions, some versions had claims that the mask provided one week’s worth of hydration! That was probably exaggerating, so maybe that’s why they have toned it down on the Australian packaging.

I couldn’t test the product’s “proven effectiveness” in 1 week of

  • “Fine lines are visible reduced
  • Skin looks plumper
  • Skin’s radiance is boosted”

with a footnote that 3 applications required to achieved. Unfortunately, I only received one packet of this. I’m always grateful for free product, but with only one to try, I can’t provide a better review. So I was a little disappointed that there was one packet in my mail parcel from the beauty site. This one application hasn’t made me want to buy more either to test the claims on my own expense. I understand the RRP is $4.95 a mask, but is currently on sale at My Chemist/Chemist Warehouse for $2.69 each.

Like all Garnier products, this is fragranced. And like many sheet masks, it does contain a fair whack of alcohol, which may cause issues for some people and can counter the hydration claims and could even make your skin itchy and I think it made my skin really more oily a few days afterwards 😐

Honestly, if you’re in the market for sheet masks, I would recommend trying out some Asian brands instead. Brands to look out for include Lululun, Kose Clear Turn, Utena Puresa, Innisfree, My Beauty Diary, etc. These are all affordable brands and per mask are cheaper than the Garnier in their country of origin. However, if you’re looking for a sheet mask that’s easy to buy at your local Priceline or Chemist Warehouse, the Garnier Hydra Bomb Tissue Masks is an accessible option.

One thought on “Review: Garnier Hydra Bomb Ultra Hydrating Rejuvenating Tissue Mask

  1. I Iike My Beauty Diary which I have a tones on at home. It fits the lazy me as don’t need to wash face afterward and can get at a cheap price when oversea.

Leave a Reply

